TPACK in the LESSON!!!

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Hello dear bloggers, I am back again to blog on integration of TPACK in my lesson. Well, before I start narrating on the lesson, let me give you all a rough idea on what is TPACK.  T: technological P:pedagogical  C: content  K: knowledge. Thus as a whole, TPACK means TECHNOLOGICAL PEDAGOGICAL AND CONTENT KNOWLEDGE. TPACK is basically used to develop learning activities which will enhance the pupil’s understanding on the lesson taught in the classroom. TPACK is also a kind of framework for the teachers to understand on the integration of technology in the lesson.

Now, I am sure that all you would have got a clear idea on what is TPACK. As I have said in my previous entry on the experiences of using ICT during the teaching practice, I did not really integrate technology in my lesson due to many obstacles and problems. Therefore, I have chosen my best lesson with the integration of ICT to explain on the how TPACK has involved in the lesson.

This was an English lesson with my year three students. The lesson was about teaching my pupils on the different types of traditional dances in Malaysia.

I have divided the explanation into two parts:

1st part

a) Technology knowledge

– In this lesson, I used mainly used technology to design the lesson. I used the Power point, laptop, videos and also projector. I integrated technology throughout my lesson. In the set induction part, I showed my pupils a short video on the mixture of different types of traditional dances.

Then, in the pre speaking stage I used power point to introduce to the pupils on the names of different types of dances. In the power point, there were also a short description on the particular dance.

In the while speaking stage, I carried out a info gap activity with the pupils.


Finally, in the post speaking stage, I played a game with the pupils which I designed on my own using the power point.

b) Pedagogical Knowledge

In the set induction stage, I used the questioning and responding approach whereby the pupils have to watch the video and response to the questions that I asked. In the pre speaking stage, I was actually teaching the pupils on the names of the different types of dances. Thus, the approach that I used was explaining and lecturing. However, at certain parts I did show videos and asked the pupils to dance. Thus, I have used the TPR approach too.  In the while listening stage and post listening stage, I actually used the social constructivism approach. This is because the pupils have to discuss with their partner to complete the task given.

c) Content Knowledge

The content for the lesson was on the names of the traditional dances in Malaysia whereby the language focus will be nouns. I focused more on the spelling of the names of the traditional dances in Malaysia.

2nd part

a) How content knowledge is being taught using the pedagogical content knowledge?

– The objective of the lesson was to introduce to the pupils on the names of the traditional dances in Malaysia to the pupils. I actually used the power point to explain to the pupils on the brief history of the traditional dances in Malaysia. Not only that, I also played a few videos to give pupils a rough idea on how the dances will be and I also asked the pupils to dance while watching the video. This shows that I have also used the TPR approach as the pupils have to dance.

In the post speaking stage, I carried out a game whereby the pupils have to work in groups to answer the questions. Thus, the social constructivism approach is applied in the game. I designed the game in the form of power point.

b) How technology knowledge helps the pedagogy knowledge to make the students get the content knowledge?

As I have said earlier, this was merely a lesson which is designed using the technological tools. In the set induction stage, IO showed pupils a short video on the different types of traditional dances available in Malaysia. I used the video to allow pupils to have a rough idea on the types of dances and also to elicit responses from the pupils. Not only that, this video is also used to check on the pupil’s previous knowledge. In the pre speaking stage I used power point to introduce the names of the different types of dances to the pupils and to explain to the pupils on the history of the dance. The power point helped me in making the lesson to be  more interesting and exciting. Finally in the post speaking stage, I played a game with the pupils using the power point. It made the pupils to be more interested and it was an effective way for me to check on the pupil’s understanding on what had been taught for the day.

At last, I am done with the blog!! I hope I have thoroughly explained on how TPACK has influenced my lesson. I hope you guys will enjoy reading my blog.That’s all for now with TPACK!!!!!! Will be back again next week.

Comments
  1. tabbybear says:

    Priyaah! Hahahaha.. i really loved your last paragraph and the picture clearly depicts how i felt too when i’ve done my post!

    Anyhow, you’ve written a very detailed description of how your lesson reflects T-PaCK in action. Bravo for that! In addition, i’ve spotted ‘social constructivism’ in a few of your sentences, emphasizing that you’ve not forgot about the theories learnt, but you’ve applied them in your lesson! Good job!

    Looking forward to more amazing posts from your blog in the future! 😉

    • priyaahriya says:

      Thank you so much for reading my post dear. Haha, well that’s an usual feeling that most of us go through I think. “Social constructivism” is an important approach that I think all of us will never forget and that is why I decided to use it my lessons. Anyway, thanks again for dropping by dear. 🙂

  2. hi priyaah..really appreciate your effort in creating your own game using PowerPoint..looks like you have fully utilize the technology! Good Job!

    • priyaahriya says:

      Hai Tina, thanks for dropping by dear. Well, that was just a simple game but I realized that the students were excited during that activity. 🙂 This shows how much they love “technology”. 🙂

  3. sakiladevi says:

    Yes priyaah you did explain thorough which leaves no space for doubt! And I am just proud you have done this topic so much interesting and it was not in the rote way we had learned..

    • priyaahriya says:

      Thank you so much for dropping by to read my post dear. Yes, even though I had many problems but I told myself to try my best to integrate TPACK in my lesson. 🙂

  4. sitinurasmah says:

    A thorough explanation on how TPACK is integrated in the lesson, I must say! Good job Priyaah! Social constructivist approach can very much help in learner’s development and performance in learning, and I am glad you were able to apply it in your teaching practice! Well done! 🙂

  5. priyaahriya says:

    Thank you so much dear. 🙂 Yes girl, applying social constructivist in the lesson was quite difficult in the beginning but I tried my best with my students. 🙂

Leave a comment